Phlebology Award

Bauerfeind Scientific Phlebology Award (BSPA)

In association with the International Union of Phlebology (IUP), Bauerfeind AG, as a leading company in the field of compression treatment, has since 2001 been conferring the Bauerfeind Phlebology Award, which is endowed with prize money of € 20,000.The presentation takes place as part of the World Congress or the Chapter Meetings of the UIP.

The aim of the prize is to acknowledge an exceptionally interesting and creative study design in the field of phlebology that has a connection to compression treatment. The prize money is there to finance such projects and will be distributed in tranches according to progress.

Applications for the Phlebology Award can be submitted to Bauerfeind AG. The assessment and selection of the submitted proposals is performed by an international jury made up of seven high-ranking participants, chaired by Prof. Dr. med. Eberhard Rabe, President of the IUP.

Application for the 7th Bauerfeind Phlebology Award

The conferment of the 7th Bauerfeind Phlebology Award will take place during the Chapter Meeting of the IUP on September 2013 in Boston.

To participate you must have an idea for an excellent phlebological study design in the field of compression treatment.

Application papers:

  • Study protocol in accordance with the guidelines
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • List of publications (at least 3 relevant publications within the last 5 years)

The closing date for applications is Friday, 31st may 2013.


If you have further questions about the Bauerfeind Phlebology Award and how to apply please contact:

Dr. Hans-Jürgen Thomä

Bauerfeind AG
Triebeser Straße 16
07937 Zeulenroda-Triebes

Phone: +49 (0) 36628-66-1400